Telugu Desam Party: Chandrababu Naidu Set to Return as Andhra CM After Jagan Mohan Reddy’s Defeat!


In Andhra Pradesh, the Assembly Elections were held on May 13, alongside the Lok Sabha polls. The Telugu Desam Party (TDP) fielded candidates in 144 seats and the YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) contested all 175 seats independently. Pawan Kalyan’s Jana Sena Party (JSP) contested 21 seats, and the BJP contested 10 seats. Prominent contenders in these elections included Chief Minister YS Jagan Mohan Reddy (YSRCP), TDP chief N Chandrababu Naidu, and JSP’s Pawan Kalyan.

To ensure smooth polling, the Election Commission deployed over 1.06 lakh security personnel, including forces from Karnataka, Tamil Nadu, and ex-servicemen. Despite these extensive security measures, violence and disruptions were reported in various constituencies, affecting the polling process.

Exit polls conducted on June 1 predicted a significant victory for the NDA, forecasting it to win between 19 to 25 seats, while the YSRCP was expected to secure up to 8 seats. The current results show that the TDP is performing well; they are in line with these projections.

Key constituencies to keep an eye on are Srikakulam, Vizianagaram, Visakhapatnam, Vijayawada, and Kadapa. As the process of vote counting unfolds, the political scenario in Andhra Pradesh stands on the brink of a significant transformation, with the TDP potentially asserting its dominance.

Telugu Desam Party:

Party Won Leading
TDP 0 137
YSRC 0 18
Congress 0 0

 TDP leader Chandrababu Naidu has triumphantly announced that he will be taking the oath as the Chief Minister of Andhra Pradesh for the fourth time on June 9 in Amravati. The vote count trends for the state’s Assembly polls indicate a robust resurgence for Naidu’s Telugu Desam Party (TDP). Jubilant celebrations are already underway at the party’s headquarters, as the TDP is poised to secure a commanding lead. The ruling YSR Congress is significantly trailing, with wins on only 24 seats. A notable victory for the TDP includes G Butchaiah Choudary’s win from the Rajahmundry Rural seat by an impressive margin of 64,090 votes, totaling 1,29,060 votes, as confirmed by the Election Commission’s data.

Rajamahendravaram Rural Assembly constituency’s sitting TDP MLA, Gorantla Butchaiah Chowdary, has once again demonstrated his formidable political prowess by achieving a decisive victory. With a remarkable majority of 64,090 votes, he defeated B.C. Welfare Minister and YSRCP candidate Ch. Venu Gopala Krishna. This latest win marks his seventh triumph in the Rajamahendravaram Rural Assembly segment, underscoring his enduring influence since his initial victory in 1983, the year when the TDP was founded by the iconic actor-turned-politician N.T. Rama Rao.

The Election Commission of India reports that Gorantla Butchaiah Chowdary secured 129,060 votes, significantly surpassing his opponent, Venu Gopala Krishna, who received 64,970 votes. The YSRCP had strategically fielded Ramachandrapuram MLA Venu Gopala Krishna in the Rajamahendravaram Rural constituency, but he was unable to overcome Chowdary’s commanding lead.

Shocking Turn of Events:

Exceeding its previous turnout of 79.68% from the 2019 general elections, Andhra Pradesh witnessed an unprecedented turnout of 81.86% in the recent elections. This remarkable figure comprises 80.66% of votes cast through Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) and 1.2% through postal ballots.

Out of the 175 assembly constituencies, 117 recorded a voter turnout exceeding 80%, with 58 witnessing a turnout of over 85%. The Darsi assembly constituency in Prakasam district emerged with the highest voter participation at 90.11%. Among the Lok Sabha constituencies, 15 out of 25 achieved a turnout exceeding 80%, with the Ongole Parliamentary Constituency registering 87.06% turnout.

According to the Election Commission, Andhra Pradesh recently experienced a fierce electoral battle, with 454 candidates contesting for 25 Lok Sabha seats and 2,387 candidates competing in the Assembly polls.

Political Rivals and Coalitions

The Telugu Desam Party (TDP), led by actor Pawan Kalyan, and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) forged an alliance in the state of Telugu. The YSR Congress Party (YSRCP) and the Congress posed a serious threat to them.
Y S Jagan Mohan Reddy, the chief minister of Andhra Pradesh and leader of the YSRCP, thanked voters for turning out in spite of the extreme heat. “I would like to thank my sisters (women), aged (old people), brothers, farmers, SC, ST, BC, minority, and young voters for coming like a tsunami to bless me in the elections,” Reddy wrote in an article on X. He also pledged to keep up the excellent leadership and thanked everyone who had put in a lot of effort for the ruling party.

Leave a reply